Find out who won what at KSBFC's annual Awards Night...

Kay Street Baptist FC hosted its 2016/17 Awards Night at Rawtenstall Cricket Club and it was another successful evening for the church, club, players and staff as a whole.

Brett Aspden helmed the evening, with Matt Hirst, minister at the church, giving grace and presenting the awards. Harry Pickup gave a talk about perspective; from football to faith.

Brett and Ryan Clarke announced some worthy winners of the Joke Awards, with Luke Hobson among those coming worst off. Director of Football Math Pickup and managers Phil Argile and John Kell gave speeches on their seasons in charge. Both Phil and John announced they would regrettably be stepping down with babies imminent.

Danny Holloway was the big winner on the night – taking home the main prize of KSB Players’ Player of the Season for the first time with maximum votes, and his second successive Man of the Match award.

Math Pickup won KSB Manager’s Player of the Season for the second time, and was also runner–up in Players’ Player. Adam Taylor finished third (for the second season in a row), and had time to re–enact his penalty given away at Westwood. Kingsley Ashworth won KSB Goal of the Season for his crucial last–minute equaliser in the Charity Cup final victory over Central.

Ste Evans won KSB United Players’ Player award in his first season with the club, after his consistently outstanding displays in defence. The manager himself, John Kell, was runner–up. John gave his Manager’s Player of the Season award to his brother David Kell for his flexibility and commitment to the team. David also won KSB United Goal of the Season for his half–volley against !Audacious.

Joel Brown won the KSB United Golden Boot with 9 goals, and was also third in the vote for Players’ Player. Harry Pickup won KSB Golden Boot for the second year running, scoring 18 competitive goals.

Arron Sweeney was awarded Director’s Player of the Season for his sterling performances for both teams despite not being able to attend the event.

Brett Aspden won the Captains’ Cup for his excellent commitment to heading training sessions, his role as social secretary and his performances for both teams.

Jonathan Rigby celebrated his best ever season at the club by winning the Most Improved player award – his goals and assists nearly helped KSB United towards promotion. New signing Josh Guest was runner–up after some outstanding displays in defence for both teams.

Tom Pickup won his second Sportsmanship Award, with Ryan Clarke a deserving runner–up.




Players’ Player of the Season – Danny Holloway

Runner–up – Math Pickup

Third – Adam Taylor


Manager’s Player – Math Pickup

Golden Boot – Harry Pickup18 competitive goals, 23 including friendlies

Goal of the Season – Kingsley Ashworth (v. Central)


KSB United

Players’ Player of the Season – Ste Evans

Runner–up – John Kell

Third – Joel Brown


Managers’ Player – David Kell

Golden Boot – Joel Brown – 9 goals

Goal of the Season – David Kell (v. !Audacious)


Other awards

Director of Football’s Player – Arron Sweeney

Most Improved – Jonathan Rigby

Runner–up – Josh Guest


Sportsmanship – Tom Pickup

Runners–up – Ryan Clarke


Man of the Match Award – Danny Holloway 


The Captain’s Cup – Brett Aspden